The Brand New Heavies - The Brand New Heavies - 2022 Repress - Limited Edition Blue Vinyl LP

Artist: The Brand New Heavies

Label: Acid Jazz
Cat no: AJXP293
Release Date:  26/08/2022

The Brand New Heavies -  The Brand New Heavies - 2022 Repress - Limited Edition Blue Vinyl LP

We ship vinyl worldwide from our home in Ireland. View our shipping rates.

The Brand New Heavies’ self-titled debut exploded in the early summer of 1990, and established both the group and the Acid Jazz label. With a fresh take on its influences - 70s jazz funk, Donald Byrd and The Mizell’s, two-step soul - mixed with a London warehouse party vibe, this was the sound of that summer. It began the group’s journey to international success, with 16 Top 40 UK hits and three platinum albums.

The band were incredibly tight, which allowed for the raw funk cuts such as ‘BNH’ and ‘Spynx’ to stand up alongside the best of their heroes. Within the year, they would be playing alongside Earth Wind and Fire, Stevie Wonder and Herbie Hancock. Unusually, they could also write killer songs such as ‘Dream Come True’ and ‘Stay This Way’ - both of which would become US R&B and UK Pop hits. 30 years later, the Heavies' legacy lives on, with the band constantly touring, but their spirit firmly resides in this classic debut album.



1.  BNH
2. Gimmie One Of Those
3. Dream Come True
4. Put The Funk Back In It
5. People Get Ready
6. Ride In The Sky
7. Sphynx
8. Stay This Way
9. Shake Down


        You may also like

        Recently viewed