Jackie Mittoo - The Keyboard King At Studio One - Special Blue Vinyl Limited Edition

Artist: Jackie Mittoo

Label: Soul Jazz Records
Cat no: SJR LP486
Release Date:  04/09/2021

Jackie Mittoo - The Keyboard King At Studio One - Available here on ***Special Blue Vinyl 2LP Limited Edition For #LOVERECORDSTORES 2021 on Soul Jazz Records***

20th anniversary edition. A stunning compilation of Jackie Mittoo, one of the defining figureheads of reggae music, and his years at Studio One. From forming the Skatalites, at age 15, alongside Don Drummond, Roland Alphonso, Tommy McCook and others to his work as writer, arranger, producer at Studio One records during the sixties, writing and playing for artists such as Alton Ellis, Ken Boothe, Marcia Griffiths and the Heptones (to name a few), to his career as a solo artist as well as leader of bands such as the Soul Brothers, Soul Vendors and the Sound Dimension, Jackie Mittoo is at the heart of reggae music. He was one of the instigators of ska music, rocksteady and reggae. In the seventies, DJ music and dancehall were based upon classic rhythms of the sixties, many using the instrumental tracks that Jackie Mittoo created at Studio one at this time.

This compilation features the work of Jackie Mittoo at studio one. It features music recorded as a solo artist (as opposed to the numerous singers that he accompanied). most of these are taken from his recordings in the mid sixties where he was recording on an almost daily basis at Studio One’s Brentford road studios developing the funky reggae sound that was his trademark.

We ship vinyl worldwide from our home in Ireland. View our shipping rates.




  1. Get Up And Get In
  2. Black Organ
  3. Stereo Freeze
  4. Totally Together


  1. Hot Tamale
  2. Reggae Rock
  3. 030E


  1. Juice Box
  2. Summer Breeze
  3. P . Cafe


  1. Henry The Great
  2. Killer Diller
  3. Wall Street
  4. Darker Shade Of Black

      You may also like

      Recently viewed