Tim Hecker – The North Water (Original Score) - 180g Black Vinyl

Artist: Tim Hecker 

Label: Invada Records
Cat no: INV256LP
Release Date: 28/01/2022

We ship vinyl worldwide from our home in Ireland. View our shipping rates.

Tim Hecker’s incredible score to “The North Water“, starring Colin Farrell and Jack O’Connell.

Both have formats have beautiful artwork throughout using stunning imagery from the film.

“The score for The North Water was written just before and during the pandemic in 2020, mostly over arguably one of the darkest winters of some memory in Montreal,” says Hecker.

“The music was an attempt to add depth and texture to a five-hour doomed arctic journey that charts a trajectory from hardened optimism into abject futility. We worked with a primary palette of synthesizers, electronics, and treated cello, in rich live spaces as well as suffocating dead ones. This version of the score is an enhanced mix of some of the material that made its way into the project.”

Adapted from a novel of the same name – The North Water by Ian McGuire – it tells the story of a disgraced doctor who becomes a medic onboard an Arctic whaling ship.



1. Seasick
2. First On Deck
3. Delirious
4. Seasick II
5. Left On The Ice
6. Our First Whale
7. Ice Row
8. It’s A Mistake To Think Too Much
9. The Warmth Of Drax
10. Winter’s Coming
11. Loot
12. A Breather
13. Seasick III
14. Twinkle In The Wasteland
15. Staring Over Again

    You may also like

    Recently viewed