Bright Eyes - A Collection of Songs Written and Recorded 1995-1997: A Companion - 12" EP - Opaque Gold Vinyl


Artist: Bright Eyes
Label: Dead Oceans
Cat no: DOC305LP-C1
Release Date: 27/05/2022

Bright Eyes - A Collection of Songs Written and Recorded 1995-1997: A Companion - 12" EP - Opaque Gold Vinyl

We ship vinyl worldwide from our home in Ireland. View our shipping rates.

Bright Eyes have announced an extensive reissue / re-recording project on Dead Oceans. The revered band will reissue all nine of their studio albums as a ‘Companion’ series that gives Conor Oberst, Mike Mogis and Nathaniel Walcott a chance to revisit some of their earlier material and re-work it entirely - with the occasional addition of some talented friends. Each Companion EP also includes a cover version of an artist they found particularly inspiring at the time of the original recording. First to receive the Companion treatment on May 27th are Bright Eyes’ first three albums - A Collection of Songs Written and Recorded 1995-1997, Letting Off The Happiness, and Fevers and Mirror.

It’s the desire to celebrate their sonic bounty that first got Oberst and the band excited about the idea of comprehensive reissues. But this wouldn’t be a Bright Eyes project if a moment devoted to appreciating the past weren’t turned into an opportunity to connect with the future. That’s where the nine companion EPs come in. Or as Oberst puts it, “the supplemental reading” for the primary reissues: One six-track EP per reissued album, each featuring five reworked songs from that album. “My thing was they had to sound different from the originals, we had to mess with them in a substantial way.” Plus one cover that felt “of the era” in which that particular albums was made – a song that meant something to the band at the time. To help the EPs come alive in the fullest way, Bright Eyes called in lots of old friends, like Phoebe Bridgers, M. Ward, and Welch and Rawlings, as well as new ones like Katie Crutchfield of Waxahatchee.


1. Driving Fast Through A Big City At Night (Companion Version)
2. Solid Jackson (Companion Version)
3. A Celebration Upon Completion (Companion Version)
4. Falling Out of Love At This Volume (Companion Version)
5. Exaltation On A Cool Kitchen Floor (Companion Version)
6. Double Joe

You may also like

Recently viewed